SoCS – Some Rings To/On It

I haven’t worn my ring in awhile, or any jewelry for that matter. Hubby and I are not all that into jewelry or accessories, save for his small collection of watches. Makes me think we should have gone for something else, like a watch for him or a pair of earrings or necklace for me. Because I’m not used to it, I try not to remove it (which is against my instinct) when I wash my hands in public restrooms so as not to lose it. One time though, while on a business trip in Macau, I removed my rings once to wash my hands in a hurry and forgot about them, both my wedding ring and another accessory, for about 2 hours. I was dining with friends in the same hotel when I noticed my ringless fingers. My friends and I hurriedly went to the concierge, with little hope of getting it back. In my head I was already thinking of whether to order the same ring and not tell hubby about the first one getting lost, or just to come clean about losing it. Luckily, after about 15-20 minutes of waiting while the staff checked with the rest of her team for any missing rings found in washrooms, someone found and reported them missing to security. The staff and my friends thought I was very lucky someone even returned it, and that they found it right away and just in time before I had to catch my flight out of Macau.

On the subject of rings, I remember my wacky engagement a few years back. My then fiancé and I were on our third trip and was getting ready for our next stop. I was fixing our bags when a velvety box fell out of his backpack. We both stared at it in surprise, him because it was not how he planned to show it and me supressing a laugh. A few minutes later, we couldn’t keep it in and just started laughing in short bursts for a good 30 minutes or so. I told him to not feel pressured and to still go with his plan whenever he wished and I’d just pretend the box incident didn’t happen. He finally did ask me to marry him the next morning at a deserted beach, or at least we were alone for a few hours enjoying the waters before the tourists came in hordes. It was a good way to start a day, a good day to get engaged 😊.

Where he popped the question.
The rings. The one with the ruby accent in the center is the engagement ring which he designed, knowing that I’m not really into diamonds. The other one stacked on top is the infinity wedding ring which matches his platinum band.

This post is part of SoCS.

2 Replies to “SoCS – Some Rings To/On It”

Leave a comment

Self Love Finder

Shine Your Light

Nothing But The Truth

I blog about life as an Autistic female with Bipolar 2, giving parenting & marriage my best shot. I am a passionate Advocate for Autism & Mental Health. I'll make you laugh & cry. And I promise you the truth, the whole truth & nothing but the truth. You can also read my blog on Facebook https://www.facebook.com/vtlizzy

Nano Poblano

Official Home of the World's Least-Official November Blog Challenge

Feisty Fabulous Mamma

Focus on the first step in front of you, not the entire staircase

Verses Inked©

We set the ink down, on the streets of the town. where Eternity Stand Confound.

Summoning Magic: A Gypsy's Tale

Tales of Love, Adventure & Poetry Undefined

Tina Stewart Brakebill

Writer. Feminist. Historian. Person.

defying atrophy

exercisig heart and mind, lest I waste away

Dr. Malcolm Kendrick

Scottish Doctor, author, speaker, sceptic

Erstwhile: A History Blog

Past | Previous | Before

naturetails

Extraordinary Tales of Nature

The life of B

Moving forward carrying grief

Following Seas

Navigating Your Best Life

Beautiful Detours

Learning to appreciate the unexpected

Trent's World (the Blog)

Random Ramblings and Reviews from Trent P. McDonald